Yas Clarke

about       works       contact

The Thicket

Composed for four voices, The Thicket is a performance of intricate, rhythmic and melodic text - sometimes narrative, sometimes abstract, sometimes non-verbal. Written in an obsolete vernacular, the work is an arcane expression of the human relationship to its environment. Guided by an audio score, the four voices sing and speak melodies and rhythms otherwise impossible to perform.

It is currently in development, but an early version was shown at Supernormal Festival in August 2019.

Performers (left to right):
James Stenhouse, Kate Evans, Shirley Pegna, Jo Hellier